Rugby World Cup 2019: Major Dates and Complete Information You Need to Know

Rugby World Cup 2019: Major Dates and Complete Information You Need to Know

The 2019 Rugby World Cup is started. The opening ceremony and first match will kick off in Japan and different countries from all across the world will come here to compete for the Webb Ellis Cup. Through this article, we have tried to cover all the information that you need to know regards to this game.

When does the Tournament Start?

The 2019 Rugby World Cup is started from Friday 20 September and it will run till 2 November.

Where is the Game Being Held?

It is the first time that Rugby World Cup will be played in Asia. All matches will be played at across stadiums in Japan.

World Rugby Cup Venues

  • FUKUOKA – Hakatanomori Stadium
  • KOBE – Kobe City Misaki Park
  • KUMAGAYA – Kumagaya Rugby Ground
  • KAMAISHI – Kamaishi Recovery Memorial Stadium
  • KUMAMOTO – Kumamoto Stadium
  • OITA – Oita Stadium

Rugby World Cup 2019 Groups

Ireland New Zealand England Australia
Scotland South Africa France Wales
Japan Italy Argentina Georgia
Russia Namibia USA Fiji
Samoa Canada Tonga Uruguay

How it Works?

Before the tournament starts, there is a basic some run-down:

The opening group stage of the competition watch 20 teams attempt to battle their way out of four Pools – A, B, C, and D. Every Pool holds five teams and only two can advance into the knockout rounds.

There are total 20 teams involved in the tournament; they are divided into four groups of five, and the two teams that finish top of the table in their pool after the group matches to progress to the quarter-finals.

The Pool of England is particularly tricky having been drawn in C with Argentina and France. Here, we can say that one of the big players of rugby will suffer the ignominy of going home early.

The original pool draw was made on May 2017, with the 12 qualified teams split into various bands depending on their World Rugby Ranking at the time, with New Zealand, England, Australia and Ireland in the top band.


  • Wed 2 Oct New Zealand v Canada, 11.15 am
  • Sat 5 Oct Australia v Uruguay, 6.15 am
  • Wed 9 Oct Wales v Fiji, 10.45 am
  • Sat 19 Oct QF1 Winner Pool C v Runner-up Pool D, 8.15 am
  • Sun 20 Oct QF3 Winner Pool D v Runner-up Pool C, 8.15 am

How to Watch Rugby World Cup 2019?

As Rugby World Cup is one of the most anticipated and watched sporting events in the world, most broadcasting companies in the world try to get the rights to televise the match.

In 2011, ITV had secured the opportunity to televise the tournaments in 2011 and 2015. But who has secured the 2019 tournament rights?

In 2017 it was announced that ITV has secured the broadcasting rights for the 2019 Rugby World Cup in Japan, and also the 2023 tournament held in France.


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More