Foundation Day of Haryana, Karnataka, Kerala, Chhattisgarh and Madhya Pradesh

Foundation Day of Haryana, Karnataka, Kerala, Chhattisgarh and Madhya Pradesh

Five states of India celebrates their formation day on 1st November every year, those states are Karnataka, Kerala, Chhattisgarh, Haryana and Madhya Pradesh. People living in these states celebrate their progress, happiness, natural beauty and never back down spirit. PM Modi also congratulates these sates on Twitter by appreciating their hard work and dedication towards their country and love within people. On this foundation day let us learn about the formation of these five states.

Karnataka – Kannada Rajyotsava

Karnataka was formed on 1st November 1956 and today it is celebrating its 63rd anniversary. When India became a republic nation in 1950, several states were formed according to the language spoken in that particular area. It was decided to name the state Mysore for the people who speak Kannada but it was not accepted by them then they decided to rename it as Karnataka in the year 1973. People of Karnataka celebrates this day as Kannada Rajyotsava with great pride and every year government of Karnataka gives Rajyotsava award to the people who have contributed the most to the development of Karnataka in the area of literature, art or education.

Kerala – Kerala Piravi

1st November every year is celebrated in Kerala as ‘Kerala Piravi Dinam’. Kerala existed before India got their independence in 1947 as three provinces which are Malabar, Cochin and Travancore. The name Kerala was derived from the word ‘Kera’ which means coconut tree. These trees were widely seen and used in this state; therefore, it was named as Kerala in the year 1956.

Kerala has an area of over 38,000 Km square and it is surrounded by Karnataka from the north, Tamil Nadu from the south and Lakshadweep Sea from the west. It is one of the popular destinations for tourists because of its backwater, tropical greenery and Ayurvedic treatments. People of Kerala are very sweet and gentle just like their tropical forests and sea cliffs and they wear traditional outfits on this day.


Chhattisgarh is known to the 10th biggest state of India with an area of 135, 194 Km square and population of over 25 million people. It consists of 27 districts and 5 divisions namely, Bastar, Bilaspur, Durg, Raipur and Surguja. It is also one of the popular cities in India and major language spoken in it is Hindi and Punjabi.


Haryana also known as ‘Jatland’ was formed on 1st November in the year 1966. It was carved out of the former state of East Punjab due to its language. Well, Haryana has a rich history as the epic battle of Mahabharata was fought at Kurukshetra and another three battles were fought at Panipat. Haryana is also one of the wealthiest cities in India and it contributes maximum to the green revolution in the early 60’s. This state has 21 districts and four divisions which are Ambala, Gurugram, Hisar and Rohtak. Gurugram is known to be the IT hub and it has also produced many sports starts for India.

Madhya Pradesh

Madhya Pradesh was formed on 1st November in the year 1956. It is the second-biggest state of India according to area and sixth-biggest state according to the population. It also lies in the centre of India; therefore, it is also called the heart of India. MP is comprised of 51 districts and 10 divisions.

Do you know which the richest cities in India are?

Do you know which the top cities to start your business are?


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More